Best AI governance tools for SMBs in 2026: nine tools compared

Last updated: 28 September 2026. Every vendor fact below was checked on the vendor's own public pages on that date.

Short answer

No single AI governance tool is best for every SMB. Choose by the job you need done. Zelkir, PolicyGuard AI and VAHTOR govern employee AI use through a browser extension and publish prices. Saidot and Credo AI run AI system registers and EU AI Act risk work. Nightfall, Strac, Aona and Microsoft Purview centre on data loss prevention.

This page compares nine tools on the same columns, using only what each vendor states publicly. Where a vendor does not state something, the table says "not stated publicly". VAHTOR publishes this page and is included on the same terms, including the situations where another tool fits better.

Which kind of AI governance tool does an SMB actually need?

Most SMBs need one of three kinds of tool, and the three are not interchangeable. Decide which problem you have before you compare features.

  1. 1Employee AI use governance. You want to know which AI tools staff use, decide which are allowed, publish an AI policy and keep records. Browser-extension tools such as Zelkir, PolicyGuard AI and VAHTOR sit here.
  2. 2AI system registry and risk management. You build AI into your own products or processes, or you use AI in areas the EU AI Act treats as high-risk, such as recruitment or credit decisions. Registry platforms such as Saidot and Credo AI sit here.
  3. 3Data loss prevention (DLP) that covers AI. Your main worry is sensitive data leaving the company through AI tools, SaaS apps, email or endpoints. Nightfall, Strac, Aona and Microsoft Purview sit here.

Many companies end up with one tool from one group and a written policy for the rest. A 30-person firm that only uses ChatGPT and Copilot rarely needs an enterprise model registry. A company that screens job applicants with an AI tool needs more than a browser extension.

What does the EU AI Act require from an SMB that uses AI tools?

A company that uses AI tools at work is usually a "deployer" under the EU AI Act, and its first duty is AI literacy. Heavier duties depend on whether any use is high-risk.

  • Deployer. Article 3(4) of Regulation (EU) 2024/1689 defines a deployer as a person or organisation "using an AI system under its authority", except for personal non-professional use.
  • AI literacy (Article 4). This has applied since 2 February 2025, according to the European Commission. The Digital Omnibus on AI, Regulation (EU) 2026/1744, replaced the article's wording. Providers and deployers must now "take measures to support the development of AI literacy" of their staff, and the obligation "does not require providers or deployers to guarantee any specific level of AI literacy of any individual." No specific course or certificate is named, so keeping records of what you did is the practical evidence.
  • Prohibited practices (Article 5). The first eight prohibitions have applied since February 2025. A ninth, added by the AI Omnibus, applies from December 2026 (Commission AI Act page).
  • High-risk deployers (Article 26). If you deploy a high-risk system, you must use it according to its instructions, assign human oversight to competent people, monitor it and keep its automatically generated logs for at least six months where they are under your control.
  • Transparency (Article 50). For example, deployers must disclose deepfakes they generate. The Commission states the transparency rules come into effect in August 2026.

Current timeline (Commission page, checked 28 September 2026). The Act entered into force on 1 August 2024 and became applicable on 2 August 2026, with exceptions. The AI Omnibus entered into force on 27 July 2026. Rules for high-risk use cases in Annex III areas, such as employment and education, now apply from 2 December 2027. Rules for high-risk AI embedded in regulated products (Annex I) apply from 2 August 2028. From 2 August 2026, the AI Office and national authorities supervise and enforce the Act.

If employee data or customer data flows through a monitoring or DLP tool, the GDPR also applies. Its data minimisation principle (Article 5(1)(c)) requires personal data to be "adequate, relevant and limited to what is necessary". This is one reason to check what each tool collects about prompts.

This page explains regulation and good practice. It is not legal advice. Have your own legal counsel review how the AI Act and GDPR apply to your company. No tool, VAHTOR included, makes a company compliant on its own.

How do the nine tools compare?

The first table compares what each tool does. The second compares pricing, deployment and fit. Tools are listed alphabetically. "Not stated publicly" means we did not find it on the vendor pages listed under Sources. It does not mean the capability is missing. The order is alphabetical and is not a ranking.

Capabilities

ToolMain focusHow it sees AI useStops sensitive data going into AI toolsAI policy acceptance and training recordsAI system register or EU AI Act risk workPrompt contentChecked on
Aona"Workforce AI Security": visibility into employee AI use, policy enforcement, prompt and file protectionBrowser plugin (Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Safari) and desktop apps (Windows, macOS) on managed devices; discovery catalogue of 10,000+ AI tools; iOS and Android not coveredYes. Blocks or redacts sensitive submissions on supported AI tools; redacts Word, Excel and PDF files while keeping layout. Coverage varies by tool and input typeNot stated publiclyCompliance hub with reference records (EU AI Act, ISO 42001, NIST AI RMF); AI system register not stated publiclyPrompt processing can run on the device, in your environment or on Aona-managed servers2026-09-28
Credo AIEnterprise AI governance for agents, models, applications and AI vendorsAI Registry of systems, agents, vendors and models, with integrations (e.g. Snowflake, Databricks, AWS, Azure, ServiceNow, Jira); Shadow AI Discovery offered as a private preview programmeNot stated publiclyNot stated publiclyYes. AI Registry, risk classification, policy packs for EU AI Act, NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001 and others, evidence recording and auditNot stated publicly2026-09-28
Microsoft PurviewData security and compliance suite; DSPM for AIDSPM for AI reports AI website visits and interactions; third-party AI sites need the Purview browser extension and device onboarding; Edge for Business covers unmanaged AI apps on Intune-managed Windows 10/11Yes. Edge for Business DLP can allow or block text and file uploads to supported unmanaged AI apps (including consumer ChatGPT and Google Gemini), with both actions auditedNot stated in the Microsoft pages checkedCompliance Manager offers a premium EU AI Act template (also ISO/IEC 42001 and NIST AI RMF)Prompts and responses appear in activity explorer AI interaction events for users with the right permissions2026-09-28
NightfallAI-native DLP across SaaS, email, endpoints, browsers and AI apps; AI agent and MCP securityBrowser plugins and endpoint agents (macOS, Windows); API integrations with 12 SaaS apps; MCP server discovery in the higher editionYes. Can block a paste into ChatGPT, redact, coach users and redirect them to an approved AI toolReal-time user coaching; policy acceptance and literacy records not stated publiclyNot stated publiclyInspects content with ML detectors; what is retained not stated publicly2026-09-28
PolicyGuard AIPolicy-first AI governance: templates, acknowledgment, training, detectionChrome extension detecting 80+ AI tools; OAuth and DNS detection (shadow AI detection on Growth and above)Approve or block tools; blocking of files or secrets not described on pages checkedYes. One-click timestamped policy acknowledgment; 28+ policy templates; training modules and quizzes with pass/fail thresholdsEU AI Act policy template; risk scoring per AI tool and regulatory-update tracking on higher plansExtension "never reads conversations, prompts, or keystrokes"2026-09-28
SaidotAI governance platform built on a knowledge graph of risks, controls and policiesInventory of AI systems, agents, models and datasets; integrations with Azure AI Foundry and Amazon Bedrock; REST API and MCP serversNot stated publiclyNot stated publiclyYes. Central AI inventory, risk inheritance, curated controls for EU AI Act, ISO/IEC 42001, NIST RMF and 110+ other policies; audit-ready transparency reportsNot stated publicly (monitoring of employee AI use is not described)2026-09-28
StracDLP, data discovery and DSPM for SaaS, cloud, endpoints and GenAIBrowser extension (Chrome, Edge, Safari, Firefox); shadow AI discovery via Google Workspace integration; OAuth app governance; endpoint coverage for desktop AI apps on managed devicesYes. Audit, alert, block, redact or pseudonymise sensitive data on AI sitesNot stated publiclyMaps controls to NIST AI RMF, ISO 42001 and the EU AI Act; AI agent and MCP connector inventoryVisibility of submitted prompts is described as configurable2026-09-28
VAHTORAI governance for companies: AI tool inventory, approve/restrict/block, policy acceptance, literacy training, browser DLP for AIChrome and Edge extension joined with a personal device code; no proxy or root certificateYes, on Business and Enterprise. Files rule cancels PDF, Excel and Office attachments to AI tools; credentials and secrets flagged on the deviceYes. Policy from a template with acceptance tracked by version; workspace course and quiz with a pass mark set by you (training tracking on Business and Enterprise)AI tool inventory, EU AI Act basic reporting and audit trail on all plans; high-risk flagging on Business and Enterprise; no model or agent registry describedNever collected; the workspace stores tool, detection type and risk level2026-09-28
ZelkirAI governance for SMEs; stated target is teams of 5 to 100Chrome and Edge extension (also other Chromium browsers); 9 AI tools monitored; can be pushed to staff via Google Workspace or Microsoft IntuneYes. Warns or blocks submissions containing 11 data categories, such as card numbers, credentials, health data and source codeNot stated publicly (a sample employee communication template is provided)One-click reports mapped to GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA; EU AI Act not stated publiclyRaw prompt text stays in the browser; only metadata is sent2026-09-28

Pricing, deployment and fit

ToolPublic pricingTrial or free optionDeployment notesSuited toChecked on
AonaNot stated publiclyFree 30-day guided evaluation, arranged after a scoping callBackend in your cloud, on-premises or Aona-managed; Sydney-based companyTeams that want to keep AI open but redact or block sensitive prompts and files, including in Firefox, Safari and desktop AI apps2026-09-28
Credo AINot stated publiclyPersonalised demoIntegrates with data, cloud and workflow platformsOrganisations running many AI systems, agents or AI vendors that need a registry and regulatory mapping2026-09-28
Microsoft PurviewLicence-dependent: unmanaged AI app protection in Edge for Business is pay-as-you-go; managed-app scenarios are included in Microsoft 365 E5 or equivalent; the EU AI Act template counts toward premium regulation licencesNot stated in the Microsoft pages checkedNeeds Intune-managed Windows 10/11 and Edge for Business for unmanaged AI appsCompanies already standardised on Microsoft 365, Intune and Edge2026-09-28
NightfallPriced per user per year; amount not stated publiclyFree 7-day or limited-time proof of valueEach user licence includes 2 endpoint devices; agents deploy via MDM tools such as Jamf or IntuneSecurity teams that want one DLP across SaaS, email, endpoints and AI2026-09-28
PolicyGuard AIStarter $199/month (up to 50 employees); Growth $399/month (up to 200); Enterprise customDemo; 30-day money-back guaranteeChrome extension; identity provider and DNS provider connections for wider detectionTeams whose main need is documented policy acknowledgment and training across many AI tools2026-09-28
SaidotNot stated publicly as a fixed price (checkout varies by region)On-demand demoHelsinki-based; ISO/IEC 27001:2022-certified ISMS; available on Microsoft Azure MarketplaceCompanies that build or deploy their own AI systems and need a register, risk classification and EU AI Act controls2026-09-28
StracQuote-based on surfaces, integrations, data volume and headcount; not stated publiclyDemoBrowser, endpoint, SaaS, cloud and MCP coverageTeams that want DLP across SaaS, email and cloud as well as AI2026-09-28
VAHTORStarter €199/month (up to 25 employees); Business €499/month (up to 100); Enterprise from €1,690/month; all + VAT; annual billing 20% off; one-time onboarding €490, €1,490 or from €3,500 + VATTrial or promo code applied at plan selectionChrome and Edge only; Firefox, Safari, desktop AI apps and mobile devices are not covered; Helsinki-basedEU SMBs of about 25 to 100+ staff that want inventory, policy acceptance, literacy records and file blocking without prompt collection or Microsoft 365 E52026-09-28
ZelkirFree $0 (3 users); Starter $79/month (25 users); Pro $199/month (100 users); annual billing 20% offFree plan; 14-day trial on paid plansData stored on EU servers; Firefox on roadmapVery small teams that want low-cost, prompt-level sensitive-data warnings and privacy-law reports2026-09-28

Prices are as shown on each vendor's page on 28 September 2026, in the currency shown. Vendors change plans often, so confirm on their pricing page before you buy.

Which tool is the best fit for each buyer type?

There is no overall winner, so this page gives a best-fit verdict per buyer type instead. Each verdict names only the tools that the facts in the tables support, with the reasons taken from those tables.

Best fit for SMB browser-level governance of employee AI use: Zelkir, PolicyGuard AI or VAHTOR

All three run as a browser extension, publish their prices and state that prompt text is not read or not sent to them. Which one fits depends on what you need most:

  • Zelkir if cost and prompt-level warnings matter most. It has a free plan for 3 users and a $79/month plan for 25 users, and it warns or blocks submissions containing 11 sensitive data categories. It does not state policy acceptance tracking or EU AI Act features.
  • PolicyGuard AI if documented policy acknowledgment and training are the priority. It offers one-click timestamped acknowledgment, 28+ templates and quizzes with pass/fail thresholds, and adds OAuth and DNS detection on higher plans. Its entry plan covers up to 50 employees. The extension is for Chrome, and blocking of files or secrets is not described.
  • VAHTOR if you want policy acceptance and literacy records plus data blocking in one extension. It tracks policy acceptance by version, runs a course with a pass mark you set, and on the Business plan cancels PDF, Excel and Office attachments to AI tools and flags credentials and secrets on the device. It covers Chrome and Edge only.

Aona also uses a browser plugin, but it does not publish prices and positions itself as workforce AI security, so it appears under DLP-first below.

Best fit for enterprise model-risk management and an AI system register: Saidot or Credo AI

Both describe an inventory of AI systems, agents and models with risk classification and controls mapped to the EU AI Act, ISO/IEC 42001 and NIST AI RMF. That matters most if you build AI into your products or use AI in Annex III areas such as hiring, where Article 26 deployer duties apply from 2 December 2027. Saidot adds integrations with Azure AI Foundry and Amazon Bedrock. Credo AI adds an AI vendor registry and offers shadow AI discovery as a private preview. Neither publishes a fixed price, and neither describes blocking employee uploads to AI tools, so pair them with a DLP control if you need that too.

Best fit for a Microsoft 365-centric company: Microsoft Purview

If you already run Microsoft 365 with Intune and Edge, Purview is the tool the facts support. Edge for Business DLP can block text and file uploads to supported unmanaged AI apps, including consumer ChatGPT and Google Gemini, on Intune-managed Windows 10 and 11 devices. DSPM for AI reports AI interactions, and Compliance Manager offers a premium EU AI Act template. The trade-offs: unmanaged AI app protection is pay-as-you-go, staff using Chrome are pushed to Edge for Business when a block policy applies, and admins with the right permissions can see prompts and responses. Policy acceptance and literacy records were not described in the Microsoft pages we checked, so plan a separate process for Article 4 evidence.

Best fit for DLP-first buyers: Nightfall, Strac or Aona

All three describe blocking or redacting sensitive content before it reaches AI tools. Nightfall and Strac also cover SaaS apps, email and endpoints, so they suit a security team that wants one DLP for AI and other channels. Aona and Strac describe extensions for Firefox and Safari as well as Chrome and Edge, and all three describe some coverage of desktop apps on managed devices. None publishes a price. Check what each keeps about prompt content: Strac describes prompt visibility as configurable, and Aona lets you choose where prompts are processed. Microsoft Purview is the DLP option for Microsoft 365-centric companies, covered above.

When VAHTOR is and is not the right fit

VAHTOR fits an EU company of roughly 25 to 100+ people that wants an AI tool inventory, per-tool approve/restrict/block decisions, versioned policy acceptance, a literacy course with records and file-attachment blocking, without collecting prompts and without a Microsoft licence dependency. It is not the right fit if:

  • people use Firefox, Safari, desktop AI apps or phones for work AI, because the extension covers Chrome and Edge only;
  • you need DLP across email, SaaS apps or other channels, where Nightfall or Strac cover more;
  • you build AI systems and need a model or agent registry with risk and control mapping, where Saidot or Credo AI fit better;
  • you want OAuth or DNS-based discovery, which PolicyGuard AI and Strac describe;
  • you need a free plan or a lower entry price for a very small team, where Zelkir costs less;
  • you want file blocking on the entry plan, because VAHTOR's DLP rules start on the Business plan.

What should you do this week?

You can narrow the list in a few hours. These steps work whichever tool you pick.

  1. 1List the AI tools in use. Ask team leads, check expense reports for AI subscriptions and review browser or firewall logs if you have them. Note which tools have company accounts.
  2. 2Mark any high-risk use. Check whether any AI use touches hiring, credit, education or other Annex III areas. If yes, put registry tools on the shortlist and involve counsel.
  3. 3Decide what admins may see. Choose between tools that never collect prompts and tools that can show prompt content for investigations, and record the reason. Tell staff what is collected.
  4. 4Match browsers and devices. Check which browsers and operating systems people use. Rule out tools that do not cover them.
  5. 5Price it on your headcount. Seat limits differ (25, 50, 100, 200), and some vendors quote only. Include onboarding fees.
  6. 6Pilot with one team for two weeks. Measure set-up time, what employees experience and whether the records are ones you could show an auditor or customer.

How we compared these tools (methodology)

We chose tools that appeared in search results, third-party lists or AI answers for queries such as "AI governance platform for small business" and "best AI governance software 2026" in September 2026, plus VAHTOR. On 28 September 2026 we read each vendor's own public homepage, product pages and pricing pages, plus Microsoft Learn documentation for Purview. We did not use third-party reviews, sign up for trials or test products hands-on.

Each cell records what the vendor states publicly. If a capability was not described on the pages listed under Sources, we wrote "not stated publicly" rather than guessing. This means a tool may do more than the table shows. Prices are copied as displayed, in the currency displayed, and exclude tax unless stated. Where checkout pricing varies by region, we treat the price as not stated publicly.

"PolicyGuard AI" means the product at getpolicyguard.com, not Virtue AI's similarly named guardrails product. Nightfall's pricing page uses two sets of package names, so we made no package-specific claims.

VAHTOR publishes this page. VAHTOR facts come only from vahtor.com, on the same terms as every other vendor. We will update the page when vendors change their public information. Corrections are welcome through the VAHTOR contact page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best tool for AI governance?

There is no single best tool, because AI governance covers different jobs. Browser-extension tools such as Zelkir, PolicyGuard AI and VAHTOR govern how employees use AI tools. Registry platforms such as Saidot and Credo AI manage AI systems, risks and EU AI Act controls. DLP platforms such as Nightfall, Strac, Aona and Microsoft Purview stop sensitive data leaving. Pick the category that matches your main risk first.

Which AI governance platform is best for a small business?

For a small business that mainly uses tools like ChatGPT and Copilot, a browser-extension tool with published pricing is usually the practical start. Zelkir has a free plan for 3 users, PolicyGuard AI starts at $199/month for up to 50 employees, and VAHTOR starts at €199/month + VAT for up to 25. Compare them on browser coverage, data blocking and policy records.

Is there an AI governance framework a small company can follow?

Yes. A minimal framework has four parts: an inventory of the AI tools in use, a decision for each tool (approved, restricted or blocked), a written AI policy that staff accept, and AI literacy training with records. The EU AI Act does not prescribe a framework for this, but Article 4 requires deployers to take measures supporting staff AI literacy. Start small and review it whenever your AI tools change.

Do we need software to meet the EU AI Act AI literacy requirement?

No. Article 4 requires providers and deployers to take measures to support their staff's AI literacy, and since the 2026 Digital Omnibus it states that no specific literacy level must be guaranteed. No course, certificate or software is required. Software can help you keep records of training and policy acceptance, which is useful evidence. Have your legal counsel confirm what applies to you.

Can we monitor employee AI use without reading their prompts?

Yes. Some tools record only metadata. PolicyGuard AI says its extension never reads conversations, prompts or keystrokes. Zelkir keeps raw prompt text in the browser and sends only metadata. VAHTOR never collects prompts and stores the tool, detection type and risk level. Other tools, such as Microsoft Purview, can show prompts to authorised admins, which some investigations need. Tell staff what is collected.

Is there AI governance software from Finland?

Yes. Two tools in this comparison are from Helsinki. Saidot is an AI governance platform with an AI inventory, risk and control library and EU AI Act controls, aimed at organisations that build or deploy their own AI systems. VAHTOR, from Vahtor Oy, governs employee use of AI tools through a Chrome and Edge extension, with policy acceptance and AI literacy records.

Which of these tools detect shadow AI?

Most of them, by different methods. Zelkir, PolicyGuard AI, Aona and VAHTOR use browser extensions. PolicyGuard AI adds OAuth and DNS detection on higher plans, and Strac discovers AI apps through a Google Workspace integration. Nightfall uses endpoint agents and browser plugins. Microsoft Purview reports AI site visits through DSPM for AI. Credo AI offers shadow AI discovery as a private preview.

Related

Get complete visibility and control over workplace AI

Create a workspace, apply a trial code or choose a plan, then connect the extension.

Get started